America imposes sanctions on former Sudanese officials

The US Treasury Department said that the United States imposed – yesterday, Monday – sanctions on 3 former Sudanese officials for their role in undermining peace, security and stability in Sudan, it said.

The department’s Office of Foreign Assets Control said the sanctions were imposed pursuant to a US executive order imposing sanctions on “people who destabilize Sudan and undermine democracy.”

The ministry indicated that the three people are Taha Othman Ahmed Al-Hussein, Salah Abdullah Muhammad Salah (Salah Gosh), and Muhammad Atta Al-Mawla Abbas, all of whom are former Sudanese officials.

She continued, “Al-Mawla and Gosh are former security officials who worked to restore elements of the former regime to power and undermine efforts to establish a civilian government, while Al-Hussein worked to facilitate the delivery of military and other material support from external sources to the Rapid Support Forces.”

The US Treasury added that these individuals participated in activities that “undermine peace, security, and stability” in Sudan, and that Washington is committed to strengthening accountability for those responsible for “atrocities” in the Sudanese conflict.

The war broke out in Sudan on April 15 between the army led by Abdel Fattah al-Burhan and his former deputy, commander of the Rapid Support Forces, Mohamed Hamdan Dagalo (Hemedti).

The war resulted in more than 10,000 deaths, according to estimates by the Armed Conflict Locations and Events Data Project (ACLED), and caused the displacement of about 6 million people within the country, or to neighboring countries, according to the United Nations.

Related Articles

Back to top button