Countries impose new Covid travel rules on China

Several countries have imposed restrictions on travellers from China because of a surge in COVID-19 infections after the country rolled back its stringent “zero-Covid” policy.

From the United States to Japan, nations are worried that new variants could emerge from China’s continuing outbreak and that Beijing may not inform the rest of the world quickly enough. There have been no reports of new variants yet, but there is widespread concern over the lack of information and data from China.

The World Health Organization (WHO) has said it was very concerned about rising reports of severe cases across China after the country largely abandoned its “zero-COVID” policy.While Beijing has moved to reopen its borders and will, from January 8, scrap mandatory quarantine for overseas arrivals.

From January 5, the US will impose mandatory COVID-19 tests for travellers from China. All air passengers aged two years and older will require a negative test no more than two days before departure from China, Hong Kong or Macau.

The US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has said that Americans should reconsider travel to China, Hong Kong and Macau.

People arriving in India from China, Hong Kong, Japan, South Korea, Singapore and Thailand will have to show a COVID-19 negative test report From January 1st.

Travellers from those countries will have to upload their test result on an Indian government website before their departure.

Related Articles

Back to top button